Sunday, December 31, 2017

2018 Literary Escapes Reading Challenge-Sign Up



This reading challenge sounds like so much fun that I couldn't resist.  It's hosted by Lori at Escape with Dollycas.

Here are the details...

2017 in Review



I wasn't going to do a "year in review" post, but here I am :)  It was a good year, but I'm really looking forward to 2018.  A fresh new year...I don't make resolutions because I never keep them.  LOL

Reading Challenge Wrap Up Posts

I completed three more reading challenges in the past couple of weeks and finally getting around to writing my wrap up posts. Ironically, they are the three challenges I host :)


Saturday, December 30, 2017

Review: The Tail of The Secret Identity by Alannah Rogers


Genre:
Cozy Mystery

Format:
E-Book

Release Date:
September 11, 2015









Review: The Extortion Cat-astrophe by Alannah Rogers


Genre:
Cozy Mystery

Format:
E-Book

Publisher:
Amazon Digital Services

Release Date:
July 15, 2015

Sunday/Monday Posts - December 31st and January 1st





The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It's a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, it is now a Facebook group.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a meme with a new host!  It's now being hosted by Kathryn at Book Date. This is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I'm also linking to  Stacking The Shelves which is hosted by Team Tynga's Reviews.

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Audiobook Challenge 2018


Now that I'm working again, this is perfect for my commute in the car. I love listening to audio books. It's hosted by Caffeinated Reviewer and Hot Listens.

Here are the details...

Runs January 1, 2018 – December 31, 2018. You can join at any time.

The goal is to find a new love for audios or to outdo yourself by listening to more audios in 2018 than you did in 2017.

Books must be in audio format (CD, MP3, etc.)

ANY genres count.

Re-reads and crossovers from other reading challenges are allowed.

You do not have to be a book blogger to participate; you can track your progress on Goodreads, Facebook, LibraryThing, etc.

If you’re a blogger grab the button and do a quick post about the challenge to help spread the word. If you’re not a blogger you can help by posting on Facebook or Tweeting about the challenge.

Updates plus a giveaway will be posted twice during the year. The first update will be June 30, 2018, and the last update will take place on December 15, 2018.

I'm signing up for... Weekend Warrior (I’m getting the hang of this) 5-10 and I'll list my progress here...

1.  Hiss and Hers by M.C. Beaton (Click here for my review.)

2.  Something Borrowed, Something Dead by M.C. Beaton (Click here for my review.)

3.  Cowboy Seal Homecoming by Nicole Helm (Click here for my review.)

4.  Nevertheless by Alec Baldwin (Click here for my review.)

5.  High on Arrival by Mackenzie Phillips (Click here for my review.)

6.

7.

8.

9.

10.

Sunday/Monday Posts - December 24th and 25th





The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It's a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, it is now a Facebook group.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a meme with a new host!  It's now being hosted by Kathryn at Book Date. This is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I'm also linking to  Stacking The Shelves which is hosted by Team Tynga's Reviews.

Review: Cream of Sweet by Wendy Meadows


Genre:
Cozy Mystery

Format:
E-Book

Publisher:
Majestic Owl Publishing LLC

Release Date:
February 19, 2017






Thursday, December 21, 2017

Book Giveaway Winner




The winner of an ebook version of The Trouble with Murder by Kathy Krevat is:

Wendy L.

The winner has been notified by email.

Congrats to Wendy! 

Thanks to all who participated!

Midwinter's Eve Giveaway Hop



Socrates' Book Reviews is participating in this year's Midwinter's Eve Giveaway Hop.  The giveaway hop is hosted by Mary at BookHounds.

Wednesday, December 20, 2017

Monday, December 18, 2017

Book Giveaway Winners




The winners of The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen are:

Yaritza S.
Wendy C.
Katherine P.

The winners have been notified by email.

Congrats to Yaritza, Wendy and Katherine! 

Thanks to all who participated!

Sunday, December 17, 2017

Saturday, December 16, 2017

Sunday/Monday Posts - December 17th and 18th





The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It's a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, it is now a Facebook group.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a meme with a new host!  It's now being hosted by Kathryn at Book Date. This is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I'm also linking to  Stacking The Shelves which is hosted by Team Tynga's Reviews.

#Chewy Influencer - Temptation Holiday Dinner Treats



I'm thrilled that Socrates' Book Reviews signed up with Chewy.com to be a Chewy Influencer. This month we received the Temptation Holiday Dinner Treats.

Review: A Cinderella Christmas Carol by Hope Tarr (Suddenly Cinderella, #1.5)


Genre:
Romance

Format:
E-Book

Publisher:
Entangled: Indulgence

Release Date:
November 28, 2012

Review: Murder at Stake by Constance Barker (Old School Diner Mystery Series, #1)


Genre:
Cozy Mystery

Format:
E-Book

Release Date:
August 27, 2017

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Book Giveaway Winners


The winners of Egg Drop Dead by Laura Childs are:

Brandi D.
Linda H.

The winners have been notified by email.

Congrats to Brandi and Linda! 

Thanks to all who participated!

Monday, December 11, 2017

Review/Giveaway: The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen





About the Book

Genre:  Suspense, Thriller
Format:  E-ARC
Publisher:  St. Martin's Press
Release Date:  January 9, 2018


Sunday, December 10, 2017

Sunday/Monday Posts - December 10th and 11th





The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It's a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, it is now a Facebook group.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a meme with a new host!  It's now being hosted by Kathryn at Book Date. This is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I'm also linking to  Stacking The Shelves which is hosted by Team Tynga's Reviews.

Saturday, December 9, 2017

Book Giveaway Winner




The winner of a Kindle copy of A Tangled Web by Mike Martin is:


Sonni P.

The winner has been notified by email.

Congrats to Sonni! 

Thanks to all who participated!

Friday, December 8, 2017

Book Blast: Navy Seal Promise by Amber Leigh Williams (Tour-Wide Giveaway)








Title:
NAVY SEAL PROMISE

Author: Amber Leigh Williams

Publisher: Harlequin Superromance

Pages: 384

Genre: Romance



He made a promise he intends to keep.


Harmony Savitt is off-limits for navy SEAL Kyle Bracken. Not only is she his best friend's little sister, she's also a single mother and the widow of a fellow SEAL killed in action. This soldier needs to keep his distance. But something between them has changed…

Despite the new complicated feelings he has for Harmony, when his family comes under attack, there's no one Kyle trusts more than her to help him get answers. When that threat extends to her and her daughter, though, he vows to protect them…even if it means putting his own heart on the line.

Amazon
| Barnes
& Noble




Kyle swung the door open. "Inside."
"No kiss this time?" Harmony asked, testing him. Her chin was high.
"That's right." He spoke quietly enough that it didn't carry into the lobby when he said, "You want to know something I'm afraid of?"
"What've you got, superhero?"
"That whatever's happened between us tonight wiped out everything that came before it. Is that what you want?" he asked.
"Are you kidding me?" For the first time, he saw the nerves behind her brave front.  Her chin quavered even as she jabbed him with her finger. "Why do you think I didn't say anything before? You think I want to lose my best friend?"
He didn't reply.
She lifted her shoulders in a helpless shrug. "But I guess...at the end of the day...I'm not half as noble as you are." 



Amber Leigh Williams is giving away
a $25 Amazon Gift Card!

Terms & Conditions:
  • By entering the giveaway, you are confirming you are at least 18 years old.
  • One winner will be chosen via Rafflecopter.
  • This giveaway ends midnight December 29.
  • Winner will be contacted via email on December 30.
  • Winner has 48 hours to reply.
Good luck everyone!

ENTER TO WIN!



a Rafflecopter giveaway







Amber Leigh Williams is a romance writer who lives on the US Gulf Coast. She lives for beach days, the smell of real books and spending time with her husband and their two young children. When she’s not keeping up with rambunctious little ones (and two large dogs), she can usually be found reading a good book or indulging her inner foodie. Amber is represented by the D4EO Literary Agency.

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK